MAKING PLANS GOD’S WAY

By Drew Benac

In his heart a man plans his course, but it is the Lord who determines his steps.” (Proverbs 16:9)

Related image

This has been so true in my life.  Hannah and I were talking at lunch the other day about how often our good plans have been replaced by God’s great ones.  Here are a few examples:

  • I had plans to be a college basketball star….instead I spent must of my career frustrated and on the bench.  I learned the truth about humility, the value of teamwork, and about the glory of God in all things.  Ultimately, my mediocre basketball career led my to my wife and to a career in medicine.
  • Now in medicine I had big plans to be an orthopedic surgeon.  I did research, networking…the whole nine yards.  That’s such a cool job, especially if you’re a dude. Currently, I am about to finish my training as a gynecologist.  Not so cool by most people’s standards.  Ultimately, my choice (or rather God’s choice) in medical specialty has allowed our family to impact families in our community and overseas that never would have been possible otherwise.
  • Currently our family is preparing to move. Following my training I had planned to take a job in a familiar Texas town….instead we are heading to an unfamiliar place where we will start all over…again…for the 8th time in 10 years.

God’s ways” truly are “higher than ours.” (Isaiah 55:9). Recently I have found Romans 8:28 to be especially true.

And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.”

It is imperative we do not forget that second to last word. It s His purposes that prevail…every time…for our good and for the glory of His name.  Lord I don’t know what you have next, but I know it’s gonna be good!

Leave a Reply

